Former RVDA chairman Marty Shea (center) is joined by (left to right) RVDA Chairman Darrel Friesen, former RVDA chairman Ernie Friesen, 
RVDA 1st Vice Chairman Tim Wegge, and former RVDA chairman Bill Thomas following the induction ceremony.

Former RVDA Chairman Marty Shea Inducted Into RV/MH Hall of Fame

Former RVDA chairman of the board Marty Shea of Madison (AL) RV Supercenter and nine others from the RV and manufactured housing industries were inducted into the RV/MH Hall of Fame on August 7.  More than 400 friends, colleagues, and guests gathered at the Elkhart museum to help celebrate the Class of 2017. 

Shea began his career in the RV industry in 1978 as Holiday Rambler's Northeast sales rep, working his way up to national director of dealer development by 1995.  He left the company in 1996 to open his own dealership, Madison RV Superstore Inc.

Shea has a long track record of volunteer service to RVDA and other professional associations. He served as RVDA’s chairman in 2003-04, remains active on the association's board of delegates, and currently serves as chairman of the RVDA-RVIA Technician Certification Governing Board.

Shea has won praise for his exceptional understanding of the RV industry, a product of his having worked in both the retail and manufacturing sides. Peers call him an invaluable and credible spokesman for the industry, and his dealership has been named a “Circle of Excellence” winner by Winnebago Industries Inc. annually since 1996.

In addition to Shea, the Class of 2017’s RV industry inductees are Edwin Baier, Evergreen RV Supply; Walter Bennett, Thor Industries; David Gorin, David Gorin Associates LLC; and Woody Paylor, Woody's RV World, the first Canadian dealer inducted into the Hall of Fame.   The manufactured housing industry’s inductees are Dennis Beadle, Victorian Homes; Christine Lindsey, UMH Properties Inc.; Doug Lippert, Lippert Components Inc.; Spencer Roane, Boyd Roane Inc. and founder of Southeastern Community Owners; and Michael Sullivan, Newport Pacific Family of Companies.


Al Hesselbart, the RV/MH Heritage Foundation’s historian and librarian, received the Hall's annual Spirit Award, which honors individuals who are dedicated to furthering the RV heritage.